The Area of Concentration requirement is as follows: Majors will complete an individually articulated area of concentration consisting of a minimum of 20 units of upper-division coursework. The plan for the area of concentration (the application to declare the major) must be approved during the student's sophomore or junior year by an American Studies faculty advisor.

The concentration requirement assures that students have reasonable depth and breadth in their American Studies major. The concentrations must include coursework from three or more departments or fields, and must examine a theme, issue, or problem in American culture. Areas of concentration may be highly individualized, depending on the student's personal interest, prior preparation, and the availability of courses.

In the drop-down menu there are examples of how areas of concentration could be formulated for specific American Studies majors.